FolkWorld #75 07/2021

Suomi Disco

Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha

Artist Video Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha @ FROG

Suomi Disco – First live album from the Finland's wildets live band, Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha.

Suomi Disco
A-side: Kukkakimppu kainalossa (Jaakko Laitinen, Janne Hast, Jarkko Niemelä) | Verkkaan (trad.) | Äiti kulta (trad.) | Osman Aga (trad.) | Sivutien kautta (Jaakko Laitinen) | Yö Rovaniemellä (Janne Hast) || B-side: Tanssi tanssi! (Marko Roininen) | Supermarketin parkkipaikalla (Marko Roininen) | En saa rauhaa (Jarkko Niemelä, Lucie Niemelä) | Saippuakupla (Jaakko Laitinen) | Hän ei lemmi mua (Jaakko Laitinen) || All lyrics by Jaakko Laitinen

Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha "Suomi Disco", Playground Music Finland, 2021

As the corona pandemia continues and making life difficult for the lovers of live music, Finnish Lapland-Balkan band Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha is providing an ease in the form of live album. Reputedly the wildest live band in Finland has not been doing concerts in the new eventless world, but has been digging it's archives. This record is from the year 2017, and the Suomi Disco club at the bar El Lokal in Zürich, Switzerland. The night was the climax of the band's Central Europe tour celebrating the release of their fourth album 'Näennäinen'.

It is an interesting synchronicity that the band, that has bravely dived through the meta-levels of subconsciousness and scooped from the mysterious springs of dreams, arts, mythologies, religion and filosophy, releases it's first live album recorded in the city where Carl Gustav Jung made his pioneering life work of the mind.

Album is mixed and mastered by multi-instrumentalist Markus Pajakkala, who also plays flute and saxophone in this concert. We hear sprawling live versions of the band's old hits and the hungry versions of the new songs from the fresh 'Näennäinen' album. The album will not be available in the streaming services as long as Spotify and the big players refuse to implement the user centric compensation model.

Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha: Jaakko Laitinen – voice; Marko Roininen – accordion, backing vocals; Markus Pajakkala – sax, flute, percussions, backing vocals; Tuomo Kuure – contrabass, backing vocals; Janne Hast - drums.

Photo Credits: (1)-(2) Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha (unknown/website).

FolkWorld Homepage German Content English Content Editorial & Commentary News & Gossip Letters to the Editors CD & DVD Reviews Book Reviews Folk for Kidz Folk & Roots Online Guide - Archives & External Links Search FolkWorld About Contact Privacy Policy

FolkWorld - Home of European Music
FolkWorld Homepage
Layout & Idea of FolkWorld © The Mollis - Editors of FolkWorld